Skip to content

Feeling Old

November 24, 2009
by


Moments before knocking my doggy-bag-Styrofoam-clamshell to the floor and forever losing half a stromboli, I was having a conversation about feeling old. Normally, I don’t feel as old as I am. I’m blissfully unaware that I’m half dead, and I like it that way. However, there are three things that bring the reality of my advancing years front and center.

  1. Waitresses who were born after I graduated high school. You can’t be old enough to serve alcohol if you were born…oh wait…I’m old.
  2. Small children I knew when I was younger. Remember when you were 13 years old and visiting friends of your parents? They had a child about your age and a younger child. Let’s say she was five years old at the time. Well, now she’s over 30, has three kids, and is on her second set of boobs.
  3. Young entrepreneur lists. They’re called “40 under 40” or similar and they list young business owners. That ship has sailed for me. No matter what I do with my life from this point forward, I will never get my picture in the Midlands Business Journal as a young entrepreneur.

To counter the feelings of being old, I imagine that I’m living two lives and that I just started my second one. When I was six months old, I was useless; dependent on everyone for mere survival. Now that I’m 40 years and 6 months, I have a huge head start over my first life.

What makes you feel old?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    November 24, 2009 7:12 am

    I’m 52 and I don’t feel old. Now I do think I look old, but I certainly don’t feel it. Maybe it’s that blissful alzheimers that kicks in so you feel young again.

  2. Heather permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:13 am

    I don’t feel old…because I’m not!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

