Skip to content

Omaha Bengals Fan Meetup

November 10, 2009
by

football-bengals-extended

Last Sunday after Andrew’s game, we went to Brewski’s to watch the 4th quarter of the Bengals game. There were actual Bengals fans in the bar. They were clear on the other side of the place, so we didn’t see them at first. But we noticed that someone was clapping at all the right times. Everyone in the bar cheered at certain times depending on which team they were rooting for and which TV they were watching. But a few people clapping always seemed to sync up with something good happening to the Bengals. I made my way over to the other side of the bar to see five people in Bengals jerseys.

Of course we couldn’t hear the Bengals game. They can only pipe the audio to one game, and this being Omaha, it was the Packers game (the Vikes were bye and the Broncos played Monday night). I thought it would be nice if we could find a bar that would put the Bengals on the big screen and turn up the sound. I did, and it’s called Beyond Golf.

So I’m starting a movement. I’m going to try to establish a place in Omaha where Bengals fans can meet to watch the game. This Sunday at noon, the Bengals will be demolishing the Pittsburgh Steelers and if you’re a Bengals fan (or just want to hang out with Bengals fans) come to Beyond Golf on 126th and Giles (across the street from Cabellas). There’s a Pizza Gourmet next door that serves food at Beyond Golf.

If you know any Bengals fans in the Omaha area, be sure to let them know where to go. See you Sunday. WHO DEY!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Frank Mango permalink
    December 6, 2009 7:27 pm

    I found this page a couple of weeks ago by Googling “omaha bengals fans” to see if there were any places around town Bengals fans got together for games. I got to Beyond Golf today just before kickoff, and I was the only one there besides the bartender. Eventually some golfers and a couple of football fans showed up, but no Bengals fans. I stayed for the whole game, tried the pizza (good) and the wireless network (couldn’t connect), and was happy to see the Bengals win another one.

    So, did you guys move on to another place? Did the whole idea fizzle? Or did I just catch a week when everyone had somewhere else to be?

    Frank

  2. December 7, 2009 12:59 pm

    Hey Frank.

    A little of both, I guess. The first meetup was a bust as nobody showed up except the people I personally invited. The game was on locally, which may have contributed, but I think it’s just tough to get the word out. The next week, I went to Brewski’s to see if I could run into those other fans I’d seen before, but no luck. This week I was in Dallas for the Big XII, so I didn’t get to see the game at all.

    I’ll bet the next two games are on locally – the Vikes are always on locally and SD has potential first round bye implications.

    Nevertheless, I’m in for giving it another try. Leave a comment here or email me at dick@kusleika.com.

  3. Frank Mango permalink
    December 7, 2009 6:30 pm

    It might be worth a shot next time the game isn’t televised locally…I’ll check back here in case you decide to try it again. Maybe others will find out the same way I did!

    Frank

Leave a Reply

