Skip to content

Best And Worst Halloween Candy

October 29, 2009

candy

Halloween if by far my favorite holiday.  I’m not sure why, but I think it is because everyone gets excited,  including adults.  I love decorating the house. I love handing out candy and seeing all the kids.  Some of the kids are so damn cute.  I always make sure to hand out candy that I will enjoy eating if there is any left over.

When I was a kid I used to love coming home after Trick or Treating and dumping my candy on the floor.  Sitting there, sorting it, counting it, and eating it.  I remember trading the candies I didn’t like with my sister Fran and taking advantage of my brother Tito.  Because he was the youngest, it wasn’t hard to take his chocolate and leave him with the crappy hard candy.

I can’t go Trick or Treating anymore, instead DK and I wait for Andrew to come home so we can raid his loot.

Here are our Best and Worst Candies

Andrew

Best Worst
5. Butterfinger 5. Almond Joy
4. Twix 4. Ribbon Candy
3. Snickers 3. Smarties
2. M&M’s 2. Bubble Gum
1. Hershey 1. Toothbrush

DK

Best Worst
5. 100 Grand 5. Charm Pop’s
4. Recess 4. Dum Dums
3. Kit Kat 3. Smarties
2. Crunch 2. Individually wrapped hard candy
1. Heath 1. Peppermint Candy

Nancy

Best Worst
5. Hershey 5. Individually wrapped hard candy
4. Kit Kat 4. Nerds
3. Mr. Goodbar 3. Flavored Tootsie Rolls
2. Almond Joy 2. Dum Dums
1. Full Candy Bars 1. Smarties

 

What’s on your list?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 7:42 am

    I did the same thing when I was young, Nancy. I loved sorting all my candy after Trick or Treating. I can’t wait to help Owen sort his. My Best/Worst list is easy: Best = anything chocolate; Worst = anything not chocolate – especially hard wrapped candy!

  2. Heather permalink
    October 29, 2009 11:02 am

    So, I take it you are not handing out smarties?! I would have to say my most liked would be Reeses, Snickers and Bubble gum. The worst would have to be the crap you can’t tell what it is or where someone got it and of course the hard wrapped candy.

  3. October 29, 2009 3:50 pm

    Best: Baby Ruth
    Worst: Those Peanut Butter orange & black wrapped candy things. Bleck!

  4. nancyk5000 permalink*
    October 29, 2009 4:15 pm

    Michele, I remember those things…there were like taffy but peanut butter. I didn’t like those much either.

  5. Becca permalink
    October 30, 2010 1:33 pm

    My mom never bought us candy except at Easter and Xmas and even then it was maybe a selection of 2-3 different types of candy (and I think they were all my parents’ faves). So what was great about Halloween was that I got a chance to get a wide variety of types. I loved Jolly Ranchers (any kind of hard cherry/orange hard candy), Pixie Stix (which I had to hide from my mom b/c she was convinced they were full of poison), Dum Dums/Blow Pops, those caramels on a stick, and especially those individually wrapped caramels with the white icing stuff inside (I was never a bit chocolate fan).

    I hated finding Tootsie Rolls, wax lips, that crappy hard-as-rock gum, mini boxes of raisins, licorice, anything ‘red and hot’ tasting, and candy necklaces in my halloween bag.

Leave a Reply

