Skip to content

Postcard from Tuscaloosa

October 27, 2009
by

1024091451
Last weekend I was in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Every year, a group of guys and I go see a football game in which none of us has a rooting interest. The guys change every year, but this year there were three from Nebraska, one from Ohio, and six from Florida.

Prior years’ trips include Ohio State, Georgia, Wisconsin, South Carolina, Clemson, and Oregon. We were set up to go to Arkansas at Texas last year, but a little hurricane postponed the game and screwed up our trip.

We were taking off from Memphis and the pilot put the breaks on about half way down the runway. He announced that a faulty air speed indicator caused the aborted takeoff. Once we got back to the gate, it took them about five minutes to fix it. I don’t know anything about air speed indicators, but I’m calling bullsh*t. If it only takes five minutes to fix, we probably didn’t need it. I think one of the pilots forgot his wallet or something. Anyway, we finagled some free drinks out of the sky waitress, so it worked out fine.

I’m 40 years old. I’ve been drinking for 25 years. I’ve heard, multiple times, the saying “Beer and liquor never sicker. Liquor then beer, never fear.” Yet, I still had a headache Friday morning. You’d think I’d learn.

Once I decided to stick to beer, I enjoyed Yuengling Lager. They don’t sell it here. But if they did, I’d buy it.

We ate at Rama Jama (don’t bother) and Dreamland BBQ (don’t miss it).

The first 55 minutes of the game were boring. In the last five minutes, Alabama was forced to punt. Tennessee roughed the punter, and Alabama got a first down and only had to run out the clock to win. A couple of plays later, AL fumbled and UT recovered. UT punched in a touchdown and was down 12-10 with three minutes to go. UT recovered an onside kick, drove into field goal range and attempted a field goal to win the game as time expired. With one second left, AL blocked the field goal attempt. I’ve probably violated some laws with this account of the game, but I don’t care.

It was another great trip and I’m already looking forward to next year.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:37 pm

    Probably bullshit, but you do need your airspeed indicator. Papa will tell you it’s important to know how fast you are going on take off and landing.

  2. October 27, 2009 7:53 pm

    B’s so sad that he didn’t go this year…

  3. THRILLER permalink
    October 28, 2009 4:24 pm

    Sounds like it was a good trip. I used to drink Yeungling a lot when I would go to Philly ( I believe it is brewed there?). I liked it also. Although, when F’n Sam Adams is the only other choice I would probably choose to drink my own piss first.

Leave a Reply

