Skip to content

The Cure All

October 14, 2009

white-vinegarI was talking to my mom the other day and was telling her how hard it was to get the grass stains out of Andrew’s football pants.  I continued telling her that I couldn’t even get the stains out with bleach.  Her response to me, “Use some vinegar”.

How many of you have seen the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding? If you recall, in the movie the bride to be’s father, Gus, uses Windex for everything. Well my mom is just like that except it is not Windex she preaches it is vinegar.

Got a mosquito bite? Use vinegar!

Got a zit? Use vinegar!

Got pet hair problems? Use vinegar in your wash!

Water stain build up? Use vinegar!

It never ends with my mother and her vinegar.   She has a cure for everything from cleaning tools in the garage to using it in your food to control appetite.  Nuts! My mother is nuts.

To be honest the only one I have ever tried was vinegar for a misquito bite.  It didn’t work! So now everytime my mom tells me to use vinegar, I just roll my eyes and laugh a little.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. FRAN MALONE permalink
    October 14, 2009 11:22 am

    Hey sister, It works on underarm stains on shirts. And for mosquitos your supposed to put it on before you go out and you will not be bitten. I think that it has to be the apple vinegar? I forgot. I dont think that it works on our memory!!! Damn it!!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:53 pm

    Way to go Fran, use it before you get bitten. You may smell bad, but maybe that’s the point. I know vinegar works on hard water stains.

  3. October 14, 2009 4:01 pm

    There is a stain remover called Seven, it’s in a tube. You used to be able to buy it at Hy-Vee. Gets ANYTHING and EVERYTHING out. It got red wine out of a white skirt (that Brian spilled on me) My Mom’s used it on grass stains when brother’s were younger and played football – worked every time.

  4. nancyk5000 permalink*
    October 14, 2009 10:15 pm

    Thanks Michele, I will look for it.

Leave a Reply

