Skip to content

My Top 10 Scary Movies

October 13, 2009

IMG_8103When I was a younger I used to love to watch scary movies. Now at the age of 40 I am still afraid of the dark and hate to watch scary movies. (True)

Here is a list of my top 10 scariest movies. Every movie on this list scarred me in one way or another.

  1. Psycho – 1960 – I always think of this movie when I am taking a shower in a hotel.  Always!
  2. Nightmare on Elm Street – 1984 – I had to sleep with the lights on for months and hated the thought of falling asleep.
  3. The Silence of The Lambs – 1991 – Hate moths and didn’t use lotion for a while.
  4. Saw – 2004 – I have always avoided making decisions, but after this movie I hate to make decisions. Please don’t make me choice.
  5. Carrie – 1976 – I realized people could be mean.  I hate mean people.
  6. Pet Sematary – 1989 – Hate cemetery’s, even driving by them.
  7. Poltergeist – 1982 – Thanks to this movie I hate clowns, hate ’em.
  8. Seven – 1995 – I don’t like pine tree air fresheners.
  9. The Ring -2002 – The girl in the well….holly shit!
  10. The Exorcist – 1973 – When  I was about 13 or so, I was watching The Exorcist with my sister Fran.  All the lights were out and we were sitting so close to each other we could hear each other blink.  The scene were the girl was spinning her head around had just ended. We were all ready scared shitless when my brother Fabian snuck up on us and started knocking on the window.  We both started screaming and completely freaked out! My brother on the other hand was laughing his ass off.  We never finished watching the movie and to this day I refuse to watch it. I still get the heebee jeebees just thinking about it.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:34 am

    See, we do get better with age, and smarter! I hate scarry movies, I get scared watching Batman.

  2. Rob Eng permalink
    October 13, 2009 8:24 am

    Hey… nice list! Those are definitely some good classic horror films. I noticed most of your films on the list stray away from recent horror films. Is that because you watched more movies during your youth and not so many recently? Or does it have to do with the difference of quality between horror films of the past and present?

    Also, idk if you’ve heard of it, but I just recently watched Paranormal Activity and that was one heck of a film. It’s not as gory or graphic as most of the films on your list, but it was still extremely effective. If you want a good scare, I recommend that film to you.

  3. mcarteratthemovies permalink
    October 13, 2009 2:34 pm

    Definitely “The Exorcist,” and kudos for including “Carrie” — nobody ever mentions that as a scary movie. But the pig blood/”they’re all gonna laugh at you!” scene gives me the heebie-jeebies every time.

    Another scary-as-hell movie: “Return to Oz.” Remember that 1980s follow-up to “Wizard of Oz”? If not, count your blessings. The image of Princess Mombi, the woman who KEEPS HUMAN HEADS IN A CABINET IN HER HALL, and the evil-looking dudes with wheels attached to their arms and legs still haunt me.

    M. Carter @ the Movies
    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/

  4. nancyk5000 permalink*
    October 13, 2009 3:29 pm

    Rob, Paranormal Activity is a movie I would like to see.

  5. Michele permalink
    October 13, 2009 4:00 pm

    I hated the book and the movie “It”- it may have something to do with my fear of spiders…

  6. FRAN MALONE permalink
    October 15, 2009 3:14 pm

    SISTER DO NOT watch that movie “Paranormal Activity”!!! You will be the biggest crybaby ever!!! AND Dick will not be allowed out of any room that you are in, without going with him. SO DONT!!! DO NOT watch that movie. I know you, you will be messed up for years!

Leave a Reply

