Skip to content

Albinism

September 24, 2009

Last night Andrew and I were talking about everything from how cats purr to albino people. All I knew about albino’s were that they were white. Whiter than Dick and that is pretty white. I had to find out more and here is some of what I discovered.

  1. A rare disorder found in fewer than five people per 100,000 in the U.S.
  2. Other parts of the world have a much higher rate,  found in about 20 out of every 100,000 people.
  3. Found in all races. (This one surprised me)
  4. Everyone with albinism experiences abnormal flickering eye movements, they have problems in coordinating the eyes in fixing and tracking objects (crossed eyes), may be very far-sighted or near-sighted, and  images appear unfocused.
  5. They are sensitive to bright light, because their irises allow “stray” light to enter their eyes.
  6. Inherited  flawed genes for making melanin from both parents.
  7. About one in 70 people are albinism carriers.
  8. Myth about albinism is that it causes people to have pink or red eyes. Not true,  people with albinism have colored irises.  If people with albinism seem to have reddish eyes, it’s because light is being reflected from the retina.
  9. People with albinism have a greater tendency to have bleeding disorders,  colitis, lung disease, kidney problems, and skin cancer.
  10. Albinism affects animals as well.

Here are a few photos of Albino’s.  First up, is an Asian with albinism.

albino people Pictures, Images and Photos

Albino squirrel. I saw one of these in Colorado once.

Albinosqu

Albino Lion.  Freaky and beautiful. He looks so soft.

Albinolion

Update: 10/19/09 If interested in learning more through the eyes of a dude who happens to have been born with albinism check out Lex Rants and Raves. Very nice blog. I actually learned some new stuff.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 24, 2009 3:26 pm

    I saw a flight of all white cranes this morning, maybe they were albino?

  2. September 24, 2009 3:57 pm

    Albino’s freak me out…

  3. September 29, 2009 11:45 am

    What is it about people with albinism that freaks you out? I have a 3-year old daughter who was born with albinism.
    http://www.parentofachildwithalbinism.com

  4. nancyk5000 permalink*
    October 5, 2009 4:33 pm

    Mashawna, albinism does not freak me out. My son just had questions I did not know the answers to. I’m sure there are many people who had the same questions I had. So I found some information and posted it. That’s it! No biases, just the facts.

  5. October 18, 2009 7:41 pm

    #9 People with albinism have a greater tendency to have bleeding disorders, colitis, lung disease, kidney problems, and skin cancer.

    Higher potential for skin cancer, yes, but the rest may be characteristics of those with HPS and not albinism in general.

    BTW I was born with albinism and you can check out my BLOG to put another face to this condition.

  6. ReDDs permalink
    November 17, 2009 3:15 pm

    I also have a son with albinism and is people like you that makes my son uncomfortable “micheal reed” just like when im in a elevator with a white person that smells like wet dog if caught in the rain but i let it be because everyone is different……. a$$hole worry bout that smell it freaks people out too

  7. abbie permalink
    December 16, 2009 4:49 pm

    Just because the cranes were white doesn’t make them albino. A lot of animals have white feathers or fur like sheep, or polar bears, or poodles.

  8. Dana Mason permalink
    June 11, 2010 10:24 pm

    I’m not entirely sure why albinism being found in other races surprises you. I was born with albinism, as well as my brother, but we are not full blown.
    As for how albinos “freak you out,” they’re people. Just people missing a chemical that helps them tan, people with eyesight problems, people. Its just a skin color. That’s why racism gets to me. Oh no, someone isn’t your ideal color. You probably aren’t their ideal color either.

Leave a Reply

