Skip to content

What I Learned About Pablo Picasso

September 9, 2009

Last week sometime, I was super bored and was in of one of those funky moods where I wanted to do something but I didn’t want to do anything.  I wanted to go for a walk, but it was  getting  dark out.  I thought I would read a book, but the book was in another room.  I thought I would make me a snack, but the fridge was to far away. Luckily, the TV remote was in reach, but of course there wasn’t anything that interested me.  I flipped through the channels for a while and I ended up settling on the Antique Roadshow. (Stop laughing)

This elderly woman was interested in getting some pottery appraised.  As I was looking at it, I thought to myself,  “Humm…that looks like something Picasso would paint. But he didn’t paint pottery. Did he?”  Here is a photo of the pitcher from the show.

picasso

I discovered that Pablo Picasso started creating pottery in 1946.  He made plates, vases, pitchers, and even ceramic tiles. He even made some sculptures.

I also learned he had a typical Spanish name, his birth name was, (get ready)  Pablo Diego José Francisco de Paula Juan Nepomuceno María de los Remedios Cipriano de la Santísima Trinidad Ruiz y Picasso. 

He died in 1973 and Picasso was his mothers maiden name. He created over 22,000 pieces of art during his 91 years of life.

If you are interested in purchasing the pitcher above, it will only set you back $22,750.  This is the sale price;  you could save 35% if you act now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:57 am

    I’m proud of you that you didn’t go to the fridge. Cool pitcher, but what the hell would you do with it.

  2. nancyk5000 permalink*
    September 9, 2009 12:57 pm

    Debbie: Let it collect dust?

Leave a Reply

