Skip to content

The Edible Heart Attack

August 28, 2009

kfcddHave you heard of  KFC’s  Double Down Sandwich?  It is a sandwich made of two original recipe Kentucky Fried Chicken breast filets, two kinds of cheese, two pieces of bacon and something called “Colonel’s Sauce.” No bun.

Calories: 590
Calories from fat: 280
Total fat: 31g
Saturated fat: 10g
Trans fat: 0g
Cholesterol: 190mg

Currently only available in Nebraska and Rhode Island.

There is so much buzz about this sandwich, I thought I would go buy one. (Ah ha…another bright idea!) My intention was to blog about my eating experience. Unfortunately the KFC I went to could not keep up with the demand.  Can you believe it? The manager told me it was going to take about 20 to 30 minutes for them to make me one.  “No Thanks!” I told her it was no big deal, I only wanted to taste it so I could blog about it.

She freaked out.  “Please, please don’t tell people we didn’t have any!”, she said.  I told her it was a good thing that demand was so high.  For my trouble (and maybe as a bribe) I got a coupon for a free Double Down Sandwich.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:54 am

    Good thing they didn’t have one, it looks like you’re doing really well by your chart.

  2. Heather permalink
    August 28, 2009 5:59 pm

    That’s crazy! It doesn’t look that good to me…let me know what you think!

  3. August 28, 2009 8:05 pm

    Good marketing strategy – threaten with the blog, and reap the benefits…

  4. ryan permalink
    April 13, 2010 7:34 pm

    @Michele — and then blog about them not having any anyway!

Leave a Reply

