Skip to content

Scared By Praying Mantis

August 25, 2009

I was on the deck waiting for Andrew to return from school. I’m just hanging out watching the children at the daycare next door playing.  No worries, just the sun on my face and a light breeze running through my hair.

After several minutes I see Andrew approaching.  Wheeew! Another day, safe and sound.  I turned to walk back into the house when holly crap this praying mantis was on my door and about gave me a heart-attack.  I screamed of course.  I think I freaked out the kids next door, because all of a sudden it became very quiet.

Once my heart beat returned to normal I took a picture of this thing.  I had Andrew place his hand next to it to show just how big this praying mantis was.  (Andrew’s hands are now just a tad bit longer than mine)

IMG_7231

IMG_7233

Okay, so maybe it doesn’t look as big as I thought it was.  It still scared me though 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    August 25, 2009 6:51 am

    I would have freaked too! Yikes!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 25, 2009 7:11 am

    That is huge! Kind of cool, but huge.

  3. August 26, 2009 8:29 am

    It is big, you were right the first time. I hate bugs…but actually it’s kind of cool looking. I’m just glad it was on your deck and not mine ;o)

Leave a Reply

