Skip to content

Dirty Money

August 20, 2009

If you wanna hang out you’ve got to take her out; cocaine.
If you wanna get down, down on the ground; cocaine.
She dont lie, she dont lie, she dont lie; cocaine.

If you got bad news, you wanna kick them blues; cocaine.
When your day is done and you wanna run; cocaine.
She dont lie, she dont lie, she dont lie; cocaine.

If your thing is gone and you wanna ride on; cocaine.
Dont forget this fact, you cant get it back; cocaine.
She dont lie, she dont lie, she dont lie; cocaine.

Eric Clapton

Recent tests show that 90 percent of U.S. banknotes are tainted with cocaine.

The amounts of cocaine found on U.S. bills ranged from .006 micrograms (several thousands of times smaller than a single grain of sand) to more than 1,240 micrograms of cocaine per banknote (about 50 grains of sand).
The scientists found that larger cities like Baltimore, Boston, and Detroit had among the highest average cocaine levels. Washington, D.C., ranked above the average, with 95 percent of the banknotes sampled contaminated with the drug. The lowest average cocaine levels in U.S. currency appeared on bills collected from Salt Lake City.
Crazy!  I guess it’s a good thing that I’m not licking my dollar bills.  I wonder how much cocaine transfers to your hands? Makes me wonder what else is on those bills.  I don’t normally think about washing my hands after touching money.  I think I will start, or at least try to remember to wash my hands.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 20, 2009 11:16 am

    I guess I don’t have to worry about it since I don’t have any money!! I used to work in a bank, years ago, and I have to tell you, money is really dirty, and if handled for any length of time will change or lighten your finger prints.

  2. nancyk5000 permalink*
    August 20, 2009 3:57 pm

    Debbie, that is crazy.

Leave a Reply

