Skip to content

Only My Kid!

August 6, 2009

Football Practice is scheduled for two hours five times a week. Last night was day number three and I’m all ready tired of sitting there. I think starting next week I will drop him off and pick him up. No more watching till game time.

Last night at 8:00 pm, right after practice was equipment checkouts. No big deal! Except like everything else, we had to wait in line. At 8:30 we are still in line, and I am so bored I wanted to scratch my eyes out. (Maybe I shouldn’t say ‘we’ were in line. It was ‘me’ in line while Andrew chatted with his teammates.) I did some minor chit chat with other parents, but there is really only so much you can talk about with someone you really don’t know.

At 8:44 pm, when I am third in line, Andrew decides to get in line with me. Yea! I thought, he can finally hold his own damn helmet and water bottle. WRONG! Again!

Andrew: Can’t we just go to the store and buy some football pants?
Me: No (I’m thinking he is just as bored as I am)
Andrew: Why?
Me: You are part of a team and therefore need to look like the rest of your team. That’s why it is called a uniform.
Andrew: Well I don’t really want to try the pants on.
Me: Why?
Andrew: I don’t know, I’m ready to go home.
Me: Dude, we have been waiting for 45 minutes and now you tell me? We are almost up and you are trying on pants.
Andrew:[whisper] I’m commando.
Me: You’re what?
Andrew: Commando!
Me: [thinking with mouth open] Aaah shit!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 11:58 am

    That’s funny!

  2. August 6, 2009 3:36 pm

    I’m actually giggling out loud.

    My friend Rich Hovorka’s son, Sam plays on the same team. He asked me if I knew you & Andrew – see? There’s a common bond. You guys can talk about how bat-shit crazy I am…

  3. nancyk5000 permalink*
    August 6, 2009 4:45 pm

    bat-shit crazy is an under statement 🙂

  4. August 6, 2009 6:53 pm

    But you love me… 🙂

  5. nancyk5000 permalink*
    August 6, 2009 8:17 pm

    yup!

Leave a Reply

