Skip to content

CRASH!

August 4, 2009

Sunday morning Andrew asked if he could go on a bike ride.  An hour later I received this phone call:

Andrew: Mom

Me: Ya?

Andrew: Can you come get me?

Me: Why?

Andrew: I crashed and I think I broke my tail bone.

Me: Be right there.

DK and I moved faster than we had moved all day.  We jumped in the car and speed to the bike park. Upon arriving Andrew was standing next to the neighbor kid and some kid I did not know was holding Andrew’s bike.

When I first looked at Andrew he appeared to be in a fog and his eyes were glossed over, at first I thought this was from crying. Then I realized his pupils were super tiny and I thought to myself, ‘that’s not right’. The kid was having extreme difficulty walking and needed help getting into the car.

DK and I decided to take Andrew to the Emergency room. Then I think it hit us both at the same time.  ‘How do we get Andrew’s bike home?’

  • Doesn’t fit in the trunk (golf clubs).
  • Do we leave it at the park?
  • If we put it in the back seat, someone is walking home.
  • One of us can ride it home

DK suggested he ride it home.  Despite being a freaked out that my kid was hurt I laughed a little inside. It would be best if I rode the bike home and then met them at the emergency room.

I rode the bike home and upon walking out the door,  DK and Andrew were back.  DK is an inpatient man and I thought there must of been a huge line at the emergency room.  Surprisingly this was not the case.  He called Kim on the way to the hospital.  She suggested a few home test before running off to the E.R.  We tested his pupils to see if they would dialate with a flashlight, which they did, and had him twist to both sides.  He was one hurting unit, it didn’t appear he had any broken bones. We gave him some Advil layed him on the sofa and decided if he was in the same amount of pain in three hours we would take him to the E.R.

Thankfully Andrew could walk unassisted later that afternoon. Today he still walks like he has his underwear up his butt and he has one hell of a bruise on his left butt check.

Thank you Kim for saving us an E.R. bill 🙂

On a side note, Sunday evening as I was walking around I wondered why my ass hurt.  It took me awhile, but I eventually figured out it was because of the bike seat up my ass.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:07 pm

    I’m glad he was ok. That hurts when you fall on your ass, I’ve done it more than once.

  2. Heather permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:54 pm

    Poor guy! Man, that does hurt! I’ve fallen a few times on my tail bone and yikes! Painful! Can’t say I’ve had a bike seat up my ass though! 🙂

  3. mayasplace permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:59 pm

    Poor guy! hope he’s feeling better!

  4. Kim permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:40 pm

    Glad he is ok and boy is that going to be sore for awhile.

  5. August 4, 2009 10:00 pm

    OMG! I would have freaked out – taken him to the ER – and then denied services because I felt like I was getting ripped off!

    Just teasing – I’m glad he’s doing okay! I heard he’s on the same football team as my friend, Sam Hovorka’s Dad… He’s a great guy!

  6. Andrew permalink
    August 7, 2009 10:37 pm

    it hurt but today im almost 100%

Leave a Reply

