Skip to content

Too Old to Rock ‘n Roll

July 27, 2009
by

Sorry no post on Saturday, it was a big day. I decided to play golf in the morning. I knew that I would be late for the Beer Olympics if I played golf, but I thought I could play 15 holes, or so. I shot 41 on the front with a double and three singles. On the back nine I was one over through 14 with no greens in regulation. For the non-golfers in the audience that means I was putting out of my ass. I birdied 15 and 16 and pretty much knew I wouldn’t be leaving until the round was over. I ended up shooting 36 on the back for 77 – best round of the year. I don’t know why all those putts were falling, but I assume that I will continue to putt that well for the rest of my life.

I rushed home to change, bought some beer, and arrived five minutes late, but not too late for the opening ceremonies. One member of Team Mexico pulled up in an El Camino while the other road in on a horse. That’s commitment to the bit. Steve’s neighbor keeps some horses on his property near 180th and F. Steve stopped by last Thursday to introduce himself and ask if he could borrow a horse. It turned out the neighbor was a really nice guy and was happy to oblige.

eckhorse

The games did not go well. My partner and I went 1-10 and were out of all five games by 4:00PM. I’d like to blame him, but I sucked. On the plus side, my pace slowed and I was able to mix in some waters along the way. The Vatican City won over Zimbabwe in the finale, which consisted of drinking a three-beer boot, smashing a pinata and eating whatever came out, knocking a bottle off a pole with a Frisbee brand flying disc, throwing a washer in the center cup, making the bottom rung in ladder ball, 4x around the dizzy bat, and jumping into a plastic kiddie pool. On the ladies bracket, France was the winner over Greece. It was a fun day. More pictures to come.

Update A couple more pictures courtesy of Eck. Still more to come probably Thursday. Click to embiggen.

DSC_0059HDSC_0083G

The picture on the left is the host country, Mexico. On the right, from left to right: Italy, Greece, Egypt, Kenya, Australia (green shorts), Jim & elephant don’t remember, Zimbabwe, Germany, France, Purple dresses don’t remember, Uruguay, Mexico on one knee, Bermuda, Vatican City, Belgium .

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 10:56 am

    This sounds like fun – but more like a frat boy’s day out. Sometimes we must accept the fact that… [gasp] we are old. I can’t wait to see more pictures!

  2. Debbie permalink
    July 27, 2009 1:50 pm

    I can’t wait to see more pictures. It sounds like a ton of fun. Maybe we could get some pointers on how to play the game with Old Folks being the players. Like old folks meaning over 50.

  3. July 27, 2009 7:18 pm

    Polish horshoes is a blast. We should set it up in your backyard one of these weekends.

  4. July 28, 2009 7:31 am

    And by that I mean horseshoes.

Leave a Reply

