Skip to content

The G35 Club

July 10, 2009
by

Nancy and I decided that if we take any long trips, we’d put the miles on my 2001 Maxima. Since it’s worth practically zero, a few thousand more miles isn’t going to substantially change it’s value. That means I’m piloting El Rey during her absence. For those of you who are total strangers enjoying a peak into my thrilling life, El Rey is Nancy’s Infinity G35.

Infiniti G35

Twice in as many days I’ve encountered another silver G35 on the road. Incidentally, do they come in any other color? Both times, I traded a hey-fellow-G35-owner wave with the other driver. The first time, the other driver and I were passing each other traveling in opposite directions on a private drive. The slow speed and the fact that we were facing each other made the wave easy and totally not gay. The second instance was on the Dodge Street expressway. My cars doppelganger was overtaking me on the right, slowed down enough for the driver to wave, then resumed its previous speed.

Oddly, I rather enjoy being in the G35 club. I imagine it’s what it would be like getting into a Freemasons meeting under false pretenses. These other G35ers assume that I am like them. They assume that I have great taste in cars, and probably extend that into other parts of my life. They assume that I’m cool enough to prefer a totally impractical car. Non-G35 owners assume I’m having a mid-life crisis. Spanish speaking drivers assume that I’m an ego maniacal douche bag.

It’s fun for me, but their assumptions are wrong (mostly). I like the car, but I wouldn’t want to own it for myself. When you’re driving a G35, it’s not if you get a speeding ticket, but when. I’ll look down at the speedometer and to my surprise I’ll be doing 65 in a 45. I can’t take people or things anywhere. My golf clubs barely fit in the trunk – there’s no way I could get two sets in there.

I’ll just continue pretending I have class and style for a few more weeks. But I’ll be glad to get my old poky car back.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:18 am

    So you do know class when you feel it!!!! Wait until she tells you she wants to upgrade to the FX. It’s the same chassy and engine as the G35 and you can fit your golf clubs in the back. Schweeeeet!

  2. July 10, 2009 7:25 am

    ‘ego maniacal douche bag’ … nice choice of words!

  3. Heather permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:37 am

    First of all, you are doing a fantastic job with Breakfast at Nancy’s! Secondly, I agree with Aimee..love the choice of words!

  4. July 10, 2009 7:58 pm

    You’re NOT an ego maniacal douche bag???

  5. July 11, 2009 5:27 am

    Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

  6. July 11, 2009 8:28 pm

    I said mostly!

  7. Rodney permalink
    September 13, 2009 12:01 am

    http://forums.g35club.org/zerothread?id=442164;postid=4974703

    G35 is the top Douche car….and with the price dropping, it will only get worse. Interior is horrific too.

Trackbacks

  1. Big XII Championship « Breakfast at Nancy's

Leave a Reply

