Skip to content

Did You Know?

June 26, 2009

Rhode IslandThe country’s smallest state has the longest official name: “State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.”

I did not know? I have never heard of it.

I remember learning all the states and their capitals when I was in school.  I do not recall ever hearing or reading the ‘Providence Plantations’ part.  This year Andrew learned the states and not once did I come across the official name of Rhode Island in any of his paper work.

Rhode Island is pushing to drop the last part of the state name.  House lawmakers voted 70-3 yesterday to let residents decide.  The bill permitting a statewide referendum on the issue next year now heads to the state Senate.

Naturally some people believe it is part of their history and want to keep the name. While others believe the formal name conjures up images of slavery and want it changed.

I’m curious in knowing how many people knew?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Coley permalink
    August 11, 2009 6:47 pm

    I live in the State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

Leave a Reply

