Skip to content

A Good Day

June 24, 2009

grandmavera Today was a very busy day, but a good one. Andrew and I spent most of the day with Great Grandma Vera.(DK’s grandma age 85) We went shopping and had lunch. It was great to see her. I really need to spend more time with her. She’s not getting any younger.

I love Dick’s grandma. Growing up I never really had a grandma. My mom’s mom past when I was like one. So I never knew her. My dad’s mom lived in Mexico and I only saw her once a year till I was 16, then I didn’t see her till I was 35 and she passed when I was 36. She wasn’t what I thought of as a grandma. I never got a call for my Birthday or a card ever. To be honest I’m not even sure she knew my name. She had like 35 grandchildren. I know the last time I saw, she had no idea who I was. (I’ll get off my soap box now.)

I am so thankful that Andrew has 4 grandmothers that love him very much.

  1. Nana Chavez (my mom)
  2. Granny (DK’s step mom)
  3. Grandma Bonnie (DK’s mom)
  4. Grandma Vera (DK’s Grandma)

Each one is unique and offers Andrew something different.

Nana is the trainer, she is the one that teaches Andrew how to do things. For example, wash dishes, wash a car, pull weeds and clean toilets.

Granny is the fun one. She is the one that will do pull-ups with him. More importantly she is the one that makes Andrew laugh.

Grandma Bonnie is the educator. She takes him to museums, shows and always buys him books. She is the one that took Andrew to Spanish lessons.

Then there is Grandma Vera who is Andrew’s ego booster. She is the one that makes Andrew feel good about himself.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    June 24, 2009 8:23 am

    Don’t ya just love Grandmas? They are the best!!!

  2. Debbie permalink
    June 24, 2009 3:57 pm

    What an awesome post. I’m glad I’m the fun one. But just let him get out of line once and he won’t think I’m so fun!

  3. June 24, 2009 4:28 pm

    He is so very lucky. I only had one grandma that I remember – my maternal grandma, and she was awesome!! I don’t remember my paternal grandma, she died suddenly & tragically when I was one.

  4. June 24, 2009 4:47 pm

    Nancy, this is such an awesome post. I love how you described his relationship with each of his Grandmas! Can’t wait to see you guys this weekend! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

