Skip to content

Fugitive (The Game)

June 3, 2009

fugitive

I was visiting with my neighbors the other night and they told me their 15 year old daughter was playing Fugitive.

I had never heard of this game before. So naturally I had to look it up.   From my research I discovered this game is not like the games I used to play as a kid.

In Fugitive there are two teams. One team plays the part of ‘police’ and the other team plays the part of the ‘fugitives’. The object of the game is for the ‘fugitives” to get from point A to point B with in a certain time limit.  Usually the upper classmen are the cops and the lower classmen are the fugitives.

The ‘police’ are the drivers. The ‘fugitives’ are the runners. If a runner get’s caught by a driver he/she becomes a rider and therefore becomes an extra set of eyes for the driver. The rider also becomes the one who gets out of the car to chase the fugitive.

The fugitive must remain on foot. They can not use any sort of transportation. There are no boundaries as to how the fugitive gets from point A to point B. He/she can cut through yards, over fences, climb over roofs, run through businesses, houses, roads, woods, etc.

The drivers role is to capture the fugitive before getting to point B. The drivers and their riders can communicate with other drivers via cell phones. When chasing the fugitives the drivers must obey local traffic laws. In addition the drivers and riders need to stay reasonably close to their vehicles and they need to tag the fugitive with their hand. The fugitive then becomes a rider or they may be taken to point B to wait for the game to end. If the drivers have no room left in their car the fugitive may have to continue to point B by foot.

If time runs out any fugitive that has not made it to point B is then busted.  The fugitives that made it to point B are safe.  Once everyone gathers at point B a new game can begin.

Did I mention this game is usually always played at night?

To make the game more interesting the fugitives are asked to smuggle items to point B for points.  In this version, the bigger and cooler the item smuggled the more points a fugitive gets.  Items can be anything.  And I mean anything!  From a rock to a persons grandfather.  Like I said Anything!

When I was growing up I would play games like kick the can, hide and seek, ghosts in the grave yard and street baseball.  What in the hell happened to those days?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 3:41 pm

    Hey, I thought I was the only one left that remembers kick the can!

  2. June 3, 2009 4:21 pm

    You lost me half-way through the third paragraph. Or maybe I lost interest…

    Is this a computer game?

  3. nancyk5000 permalink*
    June 3, 2009 8:02 pm

    No, it’s the latest teen game. Crazy

Leave a Reply

