Skip to content

First Flight

May 31, 2009

Not long ago I posted about the three baby birds under our deck.  Today two of them left the nest.  I am sorry to report that baby #3 did not make it. 😦

For the past few weeks I have been seeing two robins and I thought that it was two mommy birds.   I later discovered that the other Robin was the daddy bird.  Apparently papa birds help raise the young.

Here are a few pictures from today’s big adventure and the babies first attempt to fly.

Here is baby bird #1

IMG_6143

Here is mommy bird with food for baby #1

IMG_6145

Mommy bird feeding baby bird #1 (not the best pic)

IMG_6146

Baby bird #2 right after he flew out of the nest.

IMG_6151

Andrew petting baby bird #2

IMG_6158

Papa bird with food for #2

IMG_6140

This is a stupid crow that was trying to attack baby #2 just before papa dived at him and chased him away.

IMG_6162

Finally,  baby #1 at the end of the day sitting on the deck.

IMG_6166

I couldn’t find baby#2 or papa bird in the evening.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 12:07 pm

    That’s really cute…

  2. May 31, 2009 3:59 pm

    That is sooooo cute. I’m surprised the momma didn’t attack Andrew.

  3. Heather permalink
    June 1, 2009 3:39 pm

    Awwww! I saw some baby Robins on the tip of my roof Sunday… I think they all figured out how to fly, but I stood there for a few minutes to be sure!

Leave a Reply

