Skip to content

I Just Don’t Understand

May 20, 2009

Maybe I’m a hard-ass, I don’t know. I don’t get how it can be so flipping hard to fix a bed.

Andrew was fixing the bed and first he put the fitted sheet on the bed inside out. Then he put the sheet on sideways. I tore the bed apart and had him start all over. He did the same damn thing with the fitted sheet. I tore the bed apart yet again. I tried to explain that the sewn part needed to be facing the mattress. Of course he had a melt down. I didn’t care, he was going to fix the bed.

After about twenty minutes it was time for the pillowcases. He put the first one on with the seam right down the middle. Wrong! I made him take it off and redo. Still wrong. Finally, after a gallon of tears he got it right.

How many times has he helped me fix a bed? One would think that he would pick up on how it is actually being made.

Here is what I don’t understand. Do I have my kid so spoiled that it is impossible for him to put forth his best effort?

All I want for my son is for him to be independent. For him to be able to do things for himself. Not be a slob. To be mentally strong, honest, sincere, humble, and confident.

Now how in the hell do you teach him with out being overbearing?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 1:18 pm

    Maybe by using the technique shown in the post below?? NOOOOOOOO … I’m kidding :p

    I think you did the right thing. Do it over again until you get it right! It wasn’t FUN for either of you, but you hope it taught him a lesson.

  2. May 20, 2009 4:49 pm

    Well, I’ve seen you make a bed and fold sheets, you are a perfectionist about it, so cut him some slack there. My advise is to be consistent. If you only get on him about things once in awhile it doesn’t work. Give him the same tasks weekly or daily and he’ll get them right. You’re a good Mom, you can teach him.

  3. nancyk5000 permalink*
    May 20, 2009 9:00 pm

    Thanks to both Aimee and Debbie 🙂 Sometimes the kid just drives me nuts!

Leave a Reply

