Skip to content

Field Day

May 18, 2009

I volunteered at Andrew’s school Friday. It’s days like field day that make me so glad that I decided to only have one child. I am so thankful that I am not around kids all day. I think I would have to shoot myself. Their little voices and screams are so high pitched and loud it hurt my ears. I don’t know how teachers and day care providers do it. I commend them, truly I do. (Heather)

screamingIt was an eye opening experience. By that I mean, it was strange to see so many unique kids. These were 3rd, 4th and 5th graders and it was funny how they have all ready started little cliques. There was the goofy kids, the smart kids, the popular kids and the loner kids. With out much effort I could i.d. the kids that where picked on. Some kids were small and some kids were big. I mean big….this one boy, 5th grader, was at least 220 lbs+ and about 5′ 7″.

Most of the boy’s were just being boys, goofing off and just having a good time. The girls, on the other hand, were the complete opposite. Some of the girls spent the whole time whispering and giggling when the boys past. Other girls were worried about their hair. While others were reserved and shy.

Where did Andrew fit into the mix, you may ask? He was with the goofy kids and one of the boys the girls whispered about when he walked by.

It was a strange, strange, strange experience.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Duffek permalink
    May 18, 2009 3:33 pm

    I’m ever so thankful every single day that I had boys! There is no way in hell I would have the patience for a girl!

  2. May 18, 2009 5:28 pm

    I’m glad you can appreciate the other kids, not all are perfect like Andrew. I Love You Buddy!

Leave a Reply

