Skip to content

Green…And Not With Envy

May 2, 2009

img_5910I painted a wall in our living room today. It took longer for me to get the paint than it did to actually paint the wall. I’m not kidding. I found the color I wanted at Lowes, which was easy.

The problems started with the sample. It had sandstone in it. Apparently the sandstone changes the color, of course they didn’t have the color without the sandstone. The other colors swatches Lowes had were either to brown, grey or puke ugly green. I asked the nearest sales associate if she could check other samples they might have that were not on display. She looked for about twenty minutes. No luck. I asked her if she could create the color without the sandstone in it. The fat bitch was like, “Nope. Sorry, can’t do it.” I asked if she could call Valspar and get the color code. The wench said, ” No.”

Rude! Seriously, how hard can it be?

Luckily for me another sales associate, Jeff, overheard the conversation and he called Valspar. Since Valspar had never made the color before without sandstone they gave him some color combinations that would be close and said they would pay for as many gallons of paint it took till he could find the right combination. How cool is that?

Two hours and five gallons of paint latter, I had my color. I know what your thinking, “Why would you stay so freaking long?”. Well, after all the work Jeff was doing trying to create my perfect color. I couldn’t just leave. Could I?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Duffek permalink
    May 2, 2009 1:16 pm

    I hate Lowes like I hate frickin Toys R Us! Go to Home Depot! I love the color you ended up with!

  2. May 2, 2009 1:42 pm

    I love the color. I hope it didn’t take 5 gallons to paint that one wall! I’m a Lowes fan, I like it so much better than Home Depot.

  3. May 3, 2009 6:27 pm

    Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

