Skip to content

Thoughts from San Diego

April 13, 2009
by

“Would you like to make that a double for an extra $3?” – The only place you can hear that question and not want to punch someone in the throat is at an airport.

***

I shot 99 at Torrey Pines on Thursday. Two quads, two triples, and one par. Five three putts. Excuses: I’ve been taking lessons and my swing is changing; It was my first time out this year; and Torrey is a very long and difficult course.

***

Torrey is expensive, but oddly so. With most expensive courses, you pay out the nose and you get the whole experience. At Torrey, you just keep paying. It costs $160 in green fees paid to the starter. In the golf shop, you can rent a cart for about $40. Range balls? That’s a different charge paid to a different person. Soda from the snack bar? Er, uh, there isn’t a snack bar. Torrey is a great course and I would definitely play it again. But it was different than any other golfing experience I’ve had.

***

I’ve been married almost 10 years. I’ve been “trying” to learn Spanish for about 16 years. I’m not sure why I’ve been unable to become even reasonably conversational, but I imagine it has something to do with a lack of internal and external motivation. At some point, shouldn’t I just resign myself to the fact that I’m never going to learn it? There’s nothing like a weekend with Nancy’s family to remind me how much Spanish I don’t know.

***

I like San Diego. The weather, even when San Diegans think it’s bad, is good. I never saw a traffic jam. And of course the ocean doesn’t suck. Unfortunately, a 785 square foot house still costs a quarter million. Right, that’s not a typo. Seven hundred fifty for $250,000. Two years ago it was probably $350k.

***

I had breakfast with my old friend Tommy Moseley, who lives in SD. Tommy was a bit of a hell raiser in high school and now he’s an associate pastor at The Rock Church. One of those ironic lives, I guess. Tommy is one of the most interesting people I know.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 8:10 pm

    I’m gonna take Spanish classes at Metro next time it’s offered, and fits my schedule. You could take it with me…

  2. April 14, 2009 4:41 pm

    So did you pay the $3 for the extra shot? Skip the Spanish lessons, even if you get really good at it, you won’t be able to have a conversation with Nancy’s family, they have been speaking it since birth and just like English, we say shit that isn’t in the language.

  3. April 15, 2009 8:14 am

    Of course I paid it.

Leave a Reply

