Skip to content

Doing The Right Thing

April 2, 2009

I was at Target (yes, again) and when I opened the car door the wind caught it slamming it into the car next to me. I left a huge silver mark on it, about six inches long and two inches wide. I was freaking out!

My first reaction was to leave a note. No wait, drive away. Instead I sat in the car wigging out.

Holly crap! I need to leave a note. I can’t believe I did that. Should I leave a note? Should I just leave? Hell, no one left me a note when they dented my car. I’m not leaving a note. I have to leave a note…..and on and on I went.

I decided to go inside and get what I needed and if the car was still there when I get back I would leave a note. As I was walking to the door…the guilt got to me. I turned around and went back to my car. Still wigging! As luck would have it I cleaned out my purse that morning and I didn’t have a piece of paper.

I need to leave a note but I don’t want to and I don’t have anything to write on. Crap! I know, I’ll call DK. He told me to leave a note. But on what? I looked for a paper in the glove box, none there. I looked every where, no paper to be found. I thought I would take that as as a sign not to leave a note. I sat for a few more minutes as I focused on breathing.

I’m at Target I should just go buy some paper. But what if the person comes out and I’m not there. Double crap!!

Ah ha! I spotted a book and tore out the first page and wrote my note.

Should I call my insurance? Should I wait till the person calls me? I’ll wait.

Today I got the call.
“Hi this is Barb. The one who’s car you hit at Target. We buffed it and in came right out. There is a small dent but we are not going to do anything about it.”

Phew! What a relief!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Duffek permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:00 am

    Wow. I almost dented somebody’s car on purpose they parked so close to me at Von Maur last week I couldn’t open my door but an inch- I was so pissed! That person is lucky I didn’t have paper to leave a note!

  2. April 2, 2009 4:19 pm

    It just goes to show you, honesty is always the best policy. You are truly a good person, and obviously a much better person than Heather, she wanted to key the Lexus next to us!

Leave a Reply

