Skip to content

I learned something today

March 19, 2009

img_1150 It is illegal to capture or harvest rainwater in the state of Colorado. Even if it falls on ones property it is not theirs to keep.

According to LAT, reporting from Denver:

It should be allowed to fall to the ground and flow unimpeded into surrounding creeks and streams, the law states, to become the property of farmers, ranchers, developers and water agencies that have bought the rights to those waterways. Those laws, some of them more than a century old, have governed the development of the region since pioneer days.

I grew up in Colorado and to this day still call it home. I have never heard of such craziness.

I think when I head out there this summer I will break the law and harvest me some rain water.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:49 am

    You are such a rebel Nancy!

  2. March 19, 2009 4:59 pm

    Cute picture of Andrew. I hope it was old and not taken when it was cold outside.

Leave a Reply

