Skip to content

Ipod and water do not mix

March 4, 2009

DK was fixing the thing-a-ma-bob in the back of the toilet, you know the thing with the chain, at work the other day and his ipod touch fell in. When he brought it home it wouldn’t even start, ruined for sure. I felt bad for the poor sap, he actually had to listen to the radio on the way home.

ipodh2oMy first thought was to tear it apart to see the inside. I wanted to see how small the parts were. I wanted to see how it was laid out. I wanted to dissect it! I never asked….but man that would of been fun.

DK had other plans, he was determined to bring it back to life. Surprisingly he put it in a bag of rice for a few days and believe it or not it actually turned on. Regrettably it had a huge water mark right in the middle, so back in the rice bag it went.

The good news:

  1. A few days later the water mark was gone, he can listen to music again! Yeah!
  2. I don’t have to listen to him gripe about how the radio sucks.

The bad news:

  1. The battery life does not last more than a couple of hours.
  2. No Wi-fi
  3. I’m not sure how long DK will tolerate no wi-fi and poor battery life.

Hummm…..I’m thinking I just might get to dissect it after all.

New York Times: Low-Tech Fixes for High-Tech Problems defines how rice absorbs water.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Duffek permalink
    March 4, 2009 11:58 am

    Whats with the rice?? I’ve never heard of that! Great idea!!

  2. Debbie Kusleika permalink
    March 4, 2009 8:36 pm

    I’m embarassed my Son had an iPod! Get XM radio.

Leave a Reply

